2018 16 Over 60 Awards Gala

Wednesday, November 14, 2018 | 6:00 pm

Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park, 1000 East Beltline Avenue NE, Grand Rapids


Make Your Reservation Today

Senior Neighbors will be hosting the first ever 16 Over 60 Awards Gala at Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park on Wednesday, November 14, 2018. With this new event, we will annually recognize the contributions and impact of 16 individuals 60 years of age or more who engage and inspire us every day.

Highlighting and recognizing Kent County seniors and the important role they play in our community continues to be a major goal for Senior Neighbors. We have countless older adults here in Kent County who positively impact our community every day. Whether it be through business excellence, caregiving, or other extraordinary efforts, this population is an important part of the fabric of our community.

We are pleased to announce the 16 honorees for the inaugural 16 Over 60 Awards Gala!

JoAnn Abraham: Executive Leader, Volunteer, Mentor
Marian Barrera-Young: Neighborhood Leader, Crime Preventer, Volunteer
Micki Benz: Community Champion, Connector, Mentor
Kate Dernocoeur: Fire Fighter, Adventure Traveler, Writer
Sister Jarrett DeWyse, OP: Dominican Sister, Social Justice Advocate, Connector
Jack Greenfield: Executive Leader, Collaborator, Connector
Robert W. Hill: Volunteer, Musician, Scoutmaster
Barbara H. Hohman: Fundraiser, Leader, Music Advocate
Priscilla J. Kimboko, PhD: Professor, Aging Expert, Wellness Advocate
Robbie D. McCollum: Teacher, Event Planner, Etiquette Coach
Rev. Leonard McElveen: Executive Leader, Activist, Spiritual Guide
Gwendolyn Nathan: Community Volunteer, Supporter, Connector
Larry J. Robson, MD: Surgeon, Community Leader, Mentor
Donna Sterling: Supporter, Aging Advocate, Volunteer
Barry Van Dyck, PhD: Professor, Mentor, Runner
Karen Weaver: Teacher, Environmentalist, Arts Enthusiast

After receiving over 100 nominations from across Kent County, the following individuals were selected by a committee for their positive impact and engagement in the community, inspiration to others, and the unique qualities of their story. Each honoree exemplifies the positive contributions and impact being made in our community by those who are 60 years of age or more.


Through sponsorship, individual reservations, and event contributions, the 16 Over 60 Awards Gala will continue to provide support for Senior Neighbors and its variety of programs serving Kent County seniors living independently.

Click Here for Sponsorship Information

Please contact Brian Clark, Director of Development and Donor Care, at bclark@seniorneighbors.com to answer any sponsorship questions.

Official Print Media Partner

2018 16 Over 60 Awards Gala Sponsors

——– Gold ——–

Klopcic Family Foundation

——– Silver ——–

——– Bronze ——–

J.C & Tammy Huizenga

Peter C. & Emajean Cook Foundation

Porter Hills

The Currie Foundation


——– Friend ——–

AARP Michigan

Applied Imaging

Robert and Luanne Barnes

Cottrell & Jacobs PLC

CPA for Seniors of Rivertown Finance

Barbara Hohman

Holland Home

Horizon Bank

Integrity Business Solutions

Bob and Paulette Israels

Jandernoa Foundation

 Win and Kyle Irwin

Kennari Consulting

Life EMS Ambulance

Arend and Nancy Lubbers

Maner Costerisan

Old National Bank

Pilgrim Manork

Plante Moran PLLC

RL Consulting Group of Raymond James

Larry J. Robson, MD